The Fremantle Biennale Inc. Board of Directors

Pete Stone – Chair
Pete Stone is currently a producer for the Perth Festival. He was formerly Manager for Arts and Culture at the City of Fremantle and comes from a strong production and performing arts background. Pete has long been a strong advocate for the artistic renewal of the arts and culture in Fremantle.

Ariane Palassis – Deputy Chair
Receiving her Masters in Architecture from The University of Western Australia gave Palassis a broad skill base coupled with an appreciation for materiality and the details of construction. While practising Palassis worked on a wide range of projects, from new residential and commercial developments to conservation works on some of WA's most important heritage sites. These include Fremantle Prison, Sunset Hospital and the Midland Railway Workshops. In developing her own art practice Ariane has continued to follow her architectural interest in the analysis of place as a repository of human memory and experience. Being Australian with Greek heritage, the displaced old world rituals and the value of family mythologies and cultural traditions have played a large role in her work.

Gladys Demissie – Treasurer
In 1975 at the age of 19, Gladys migrated to Australia as a student and after graduating with a Bachelor of Business and later a Master of Business Administration, had an extensive career for several decades in finance, working mainly with the Australian Tax Office in areas such as auditing, assessing and rulings before retiring in 2013. Gldays is currently Western Australian State President for St Vincent de Paul.

Peter Woodward – Secretary
Peter Woodward is the Director of Landscape Architecture practice Woodward Design based in Fremantle. Throughout his career Peter has been involved in the incorporation of art and public art into built projects. He completed his Bachelor of Arts at Lancaster University and his Master of Arts at Sheffield University Faculty of Architectural Studies. Peter sits on the Heritage Council WA Register Committee and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects.

Marcus Holmes – Board Member
Marcus is Principal of law firm Land Equity Legal. Marcus' key role on the Board is assisting with governance, compliance, risk management and developing and reviewing artists' and sponsors' contracts. He works with Aboriginal Boards on similar work in the Native Title arena, including in development of corporate policies and procedures. Marcus is also involved in working with local government engaging with the Noongar native title settlement and Victoria's proposed treaty.

Ted Snell – Board Member
Professor Ted Snell, AM CitWA, is Chief Cultural Officer at the University of Western Australia. Over the past two decades he has contributed to the national arts agenda through his role as Chair of the Visual Arts Board of the Australia Council, Chair of Artbank, Chair of the Asialink Visual Arts Advisory Committee, Board member of the National Association for the Visual Arts and member of the ARC Advisory Council, Chair of the Australian Experimental Art Foundation and Chair of University Art Museums Australia. He is currently on the boards of the UQ Art Museum, the WA Churchill Fellowship Regional Committee and ANAT (Australian Network of Art & Technology). He has published several books and has curated numerous exhibitions, many of which document the visual culture of Western Australia. Ted Snell is a regular commentator on the arts for ABC radio and television and is currently Perth art reviewer for The Australian and writes regularly for The Conversation.

Ian Kortlang (Kort) – Board Member

Kort has provided business leadership, issues management and corporate communications counsel to many of the most high profile CEOs and Boards in Australia over three decades. With a proven track record spanning new business creation, corporate strategy, national and international affairs, Kort has also held CEO roles at some of the largest communications firms in Australia. Kort came to the private sector after a successful career as a political campaign strategist, public sector departmental head, diplomat and army officer. Kort is an accomplished presenter and public speaker and a respected media and political commentator.

Tom Mùller – Board Member (ex-officio)